Sr. Mercy Mwayi, FSSJ

Sr. Mercy Mwayi, FSSJ

AOSK-SLYI Project Manager
Mr.Brighton Savayi Amuni

Mr.Brighton Savayi Amuni

AOSK-SLYI Project Officer/M.E.A.L Assistant

AOSK-Sister Lead Youth Empowerment Initiative in Maragua   at Emmanuel Skill Centre Muranga

AOSK – Sisters Led Youth
Empowerment Initiative was founded in 2020 when the association realized the
need to expand the provision of quality services to disadvantaged and
vulnerable youth of 15 – 25 years to
champion for sustainable human development. This was conceived based on the International Labour Organization (ILO) report (2017), which
outlines that unemployment rate among this group was estimated at 13%. Kenya is
no exception because young women and men account for 37% of the working-age
population. It
seeks to empower vulnerable and disadvantaged youth across
the country through skill development, mentorship and provision of seed capital.
The pilot phase of the project (2020/2021) has empowered 3830 youth across Kenya
with 42 businesses of 200 youth operational. The project is funded by the Conrad Hilton Foundation.

GOAL: Enhanced skills development and job-creating opportunities for
vulnerable and disadvantaged youth aged 15-25 years’ old


Specific Objectives

  1.      Partner with Catholic technical training institutions to deliver
    vocational training to sustainably impact technical skills to vulnerable and
    disadvantaged youth

  2.      Disadvantaged and vulnerable youth aged 15 -25 have improved
    technical and vocational skills and use the skills for self-sustainability


  3.     Improved community-based
    outreach programs for the disadvantaged and vulnerable youth

Sisters in a discussion group


The project targets
7200 youth aged 15- 25 years. The pilot phase of the project was implemented
through 21 sisters-led technical training institutions in 11 AOSK Units (AUs).
Phase one of the project is being implemented by 36 Catholic technical training
institutions across 17 AUs including Kakamega, Machakos, Kitui, Mombasa,
Nairobi, Murang’a, Kisumu, Eldoret, Ngong, Embu, Meru, Homabay, Nakuru,
Nyahururu, Isiolo Vicariate, Kitale and Nyeri.